Teams to Battle for Canadian Amateur Title at River Park

Victoria, Toronto, Calgary and Winnipeg Clubs to Play Here in Greatest Lacrosse Meet Ever Conducted-Series Will Settle Long-Standing Mann Cup Dispute.

ITH the Victoria team already on the way, the St. Simon team, of Toronto, leaving tonight, and the Edmonton team leaving Sunday for Winnipeg, the success of the Dominion Lacrosse championship tournament, next week, is assured. The opening games will be played Wednesday, at River Park. The draw will likely bring all the competing teams into play on this

The plan at present calls for the first round being played with the contending teams playing two games, goals to count, and with a sudden death game for the final on Saturday. This plan will, of course, have to be changed if the Kerrobert team, cham-

pions of Saskatchewan make up their mind to attend.

Many notable lacrosse figures will be in the city next week for the tournament. Chief of these will be F. C. Waghorne, of Tor-onto, the greatest of all boosters for the National game. Mr. Waghorne holds a host of offices in lacrosse associations, and is also one of Canada's best referees. He will officiate in some of the tournament games. Mr. Waghorne is secretary of the Canadian Amateur Lacrosse association, and he will play a prominent part in the revival of that association during his visit in Winnipeg.

All of the Toronto players are well known Ontario athletes. Many of them play both lacrosse and hockey, and one, Sullivan,

was here last winter with the Newman Hall team.

Former 'Pegger Coming

Joe Moir, who heads the Edmonton party, is a brother of Les Moir, the well-known local lacrosse star. Joe is an old Winnipeg boy and organized the Mintos when lacrosse was going good in Winnipeg.

McDougall, who played here with the 90th Battalion team in 1915, when they won the Manitoba championship, is with the Victoria team. He is a finished player and will be given a warm welcome by his old teammates.

mates.

Details for the tournament are now almost completed. "Ossie" Granam, chairman of the finance committee, has met with wonderful success in his canvass for funds and yesterday secured a graut of \$500 from the provincial government.

Ross Bowman, who is looking after the ticket sale, announces that the reserve seat sale will open at the Olympia hotel on Monday morning. General admission tickets are now on sale.

e Coo, president of the Win-Lacrosse association, who is I chairman of the tournament ident that the tournament will nipeg Lacrosse association, who is general chairman of the tournament, is confident that the tournament will be a success. All that is needed, he says, is perfect weather to make the event one of the greatest ever staged in Canada. He expects that close to ten thousand people will witness the final game at River park next Saturday and looks for the Winnipeg team to figure in the game.

Thomas Boyd, president of the Amateur Athletic union of Canada, has consented to act as official time-keeper for the series. Walter Smaill and George Kendall will be asked to act as referees in the games that the Winnipeg team is not playing in, and some of the visitors will work when the Winnipegs are in action.

A. W. McLimont, vice-president of the Street Railway Co., who is an old lacrosse player, is taking a very deep interest in the series and has promised a special car service to the park for the games.

90 ENTRIES FOR RAILWAY SPORTS MEET

Ninety entries for nine Manitoba nampionships. That is what the championships. entry list for the Winnipeg Electric Athle tin agganiation

PERSONNEL OF LACROSSE TEAMS

FOUNDATION LACROSSE CLUB Victoria, B.C.

Champions of British Columbia, olders of Mann cup, and champions holders

Canada.
D. R. Clark, president; C. E. Bur-ett, secretary; Ed. Bryngolfson,

nett, secretary; Ed. Bryngonson, manager.
Jack Davis, goal; A. Clegg, point; Frank Sweeney, coverpoint; E. Munro, defence; F. Kroeger, defence; John Johnson, defence; A. McDougall, centre; J. Painter, home; A. McInnes, home; J. Mitchell, home; B. Freedham, home; A. McGregor, home; Stan Ross, Pottinger.

EDMONTON LACROSSE CLUB Champions of Alberta

Moir, vice-president; Hughes.

J. Courtess, Henry Dunn, Muir-head, captain; Skitch, Coulson, Young, Elliott, Jones, Creighton, Sutherland, Curless, Abbott, Ramsey,

ST. SIMON LACROSSE CLUB

Champions of district and repre-nting Ontario Lacrosse associaassociasenting

senting Untario Lion.

F. C. Waghorne, honorary president, Ontario Lacrosse association, and secretary-treasurer Canadian Amateur Lacrosse association.

Trainer—Allen.
Chandler, goal; Gore, point; covernoint; Scott, defence

Chandler, goal; Gore, point; Spring, coverpoint; Scott, defence field; O'Rourke, defence field; Mul-roy, centre; Dopp, home field; Mc-Gregor, home field; Sullivan, outside home; Robertson, inside home; H. Scott, sub; Walsh, sub; McFaden, centre. centre

WINNIPEG LACROSSE CLUB Champions of Manitoba

Champions of Manitoba
Dr. W. T. Irwin, president; Ken
Powell, secretary.
Pete Sherman, goal; Cliff Roxborough, point; Wm. Fraser, coverpoint;
R. Buckingham, defence field; F. Cadham, defence field; F. Simonite, centre; F. Jarrett, home field; W. Fulton, home field; H. Gillespieg outside home; Geo. Cronn, inside home; Stan Zed, sub; Scotty Barlin, sub; Pat Narvalansky, sub; E. Sparrow, sub; W. Miller, sub.