Manitoba Lacrosse Hall of Fame & Museum Inc.

Mission Statement:  Our objective is to remember and recognize those who have brought honour and distinction to lacrosse in Manitoba as players, builders and teams.

Current Board of Directors

Tom Parker President tom.parker@lsrd.net 204-253-8431

Harry Nightingale Past President haruth@shaw.ca 204-667-4174

Doug Krochak First Vice President ghenkewich@shaw.ca 204-633-1502

Glen Henkewich Second Vice President tom.parker@lsrd.net 204-253-8431

John Schillinger Treasurer schill@mymts.net 204-663-4800

Laralie Higginson Secretary kimlar@xplornet.com 204-226-1351

Gord Pottinger Chief Historian potty98@mymts.net 204-661-0382

Kim Knowles Director kimlar@xplornet.com 204-226-1350

Bruce Paton Director bpaton@mpi.mb.ca 204-254-9102

Keith McLennan Director mac15@mymts.net 204-

Bruce Wisener Director wise@mymts.net 204-667-0065


During the early months of 2010, Len Morrow, Harry Nightingale and Butch Wozniak, after several phone conversations, met at Len's apartment to discuss the formation of a Provincial Lacrosse Hall of Fame. Morrow's experience with the Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame was invaluable in fast tracking the Lacrosse Hall's beginning. The three men had the experience of the Hockey Hall's method of operation to use as a model. Nightingale's experience on the Selection Committee of the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame and Museum Inc. and that organization's Executive Director, Rick Brownlee being available for advice was also a benefit in starting the Lacrosse Hall. The then Executive Director of the Manitoba Lacrosse Association, Laralie Higginson, added major assistance in the formative months. The Manitoba Lacrosse Alumni donated $1000 as start up money for the Hallof Fame to use.

Several lacrosse people were approached to form the initial Board of Directors and the following met for the inaugural meeting on April 15, 2010 at Sport Manitoba: Len Morrow, Harry Nightingale, Butch Wozniak, Tom Parker, Gord Pottinger, Abe Pierson, and Ed (Brocki) Miedzybrocki. John Schillinger, working in Leaf Rapids, offered to serve as the Treasurer.

The following appointments were made at that meeting: Harry Nightingale - President; Butch Wozniak - First Vice President; Len Morrow - Second Vice President in charge of fund raising; John Schillinger - Treasurer, Legal - Ed Brocki; Historian - Gord Pottinger with the assistance of Abe Pierson. At a later meeting, Tom Parker was appointed as Chairman of the Selection Committee. After doing crucial legal work towards the incorporation of the Hall and forming the By-laws for the association, Ed Brocki passed away in the Fall of 2010. In June, Laralie Higginson offered to be our recording secretary with no voting rights due to her duties with the Manitoba Lacrosse Association. She later left that position with the association and the board decided that she be granted voting privileges. The Directors unanimously agreed that Doug Krochak and Larry Ziffle be added to the board and they joined for the March 17, 2011 meeting.

Coming in to Winnipeg from Leaf Rapids, Schillinger met with Nightingale to set up an account at the Assiniboine Credit Union. Using the legal information provided by Brocki, Nightingale was able to complete the paperwork for the incorporation and as of January 5th, 2011 it became official. After more paper work was done and sent to the Federal Government, the Manitoba Hall of Fame & Museum Inc., as of March 17, 2011, was registered as a Charity and receipts for income tax purposes could be issued.

Related Organizations and Other Links