Honoured Members

1954 Manitoba Junior All-Stars Eastern Canadian Jr. ‘A’ Lacrosse Champions

Date of Induction: 2012

Career: 1951 - 1955

The Manitoba Junior All-Star team captured the province’s first Eastern Canadian Junior ‘A’ Lacrosse Championship in 1954, winning the best-of-three series two games to one against Ontario’s Long Branch Monarchs.

Manitoba surprised the highly-touted Monarchs by winning the first game 10 to 9. After dropping the second game by a 12 to 10 score, the All-Stars rebounded to win the third game 7 to 6 and the right to move on to Van­couver and play for the Minto Cup. Goalkeeper Mike Tymchyshyn was a key factor for the Manitobans to advance to the final, while Ted Derrett scored five goals to lead his team in the series.

Members of the 1954 team are:

Gary Aldcorn, Ross Fargey, Len Morrow, John Campbell, Bill Friesen, Don Nightingale, Jack Carnegie, Gordon Horner, Dick Paulley, Gordon Chem, Joe Hunt, Mike Tymchyshyn, Bob Currie, Ralph Lyndon, Daryl Young, Ted Derrett, Barry McQueen

Coach: John Arondeus, Manager Jim O’Dowda, Trainer Ken Lawson, Stick Boy Clarke Peterman

Honourees (View All)